Today, I’m joined by Krystol Diggs of The Krystol Meth(od)! This was one of those beautiful blog made connections – not Facebook, not twitter, not Pinterest. We’ve read each other’s blogs for years, and for whatever reason, both seem to be in the same place. The place of writing hell that only Masters/PhD students understand…but we’re also BOTH authors/marketers and have busy lives. Please join me in welcoming Krystol & read on for how we deal with our writing fears.

I’ll be doing a guest post on her blog as well, so check back for updates here on when it will appear!

kmpostAs a writer, we all want to make it. By making it, I mean be on the NY Time’s Best Seller’s list. We writers want the world to love our work and want more of it. My dream has always been to be a writer full-time like Stephen King or James Patterson. They put books out every other week. One day we all will get there if it is what we really want. But it is easy to put pen to paper or hands to keyboard and write. The hardest part is what comes after that. Getting your work out “ there”. Where is there, right? There can be in the hands of a friend or even an agency. I know it can be very scary. We writers are sensitive about our work.

My Writing Fears

1, Rejection: This is like our writer’s anthem for writing fears. We want to be accepted in our writing if we are not in our life. Our writing is what makes us who we are. We tell the stories that we can’t get out in real life. If people don’t love our work, we feel rejected. Saying that it makes no sense or doesn’t read the best, is like a cut to our gut. Let’s not get started with rejection letters. When I first started out, even up until now, rejection letters made me cry. When you work on your craft for so long and people are telling you that your work is not good enough for them. It takes a lot out of you. I’m an introvert so just putting myself out there was hard enough. In this business no matter how many times you are rejected, you have to develop a tough skin. Let the no’s be the motivation for continued writing and momentum. J. K Rowling who write The Harry Potter series was rejected with Harry Potter at least 15 times. Eventually, she got her yes. Don’t worry, we will too! Whether you decide to go the traditional route or self-publish it can happen. Colleen Hoover posted her book on amazon as a self-published author and look at her now! Let the rejection build rejoicing.

2. Not Being Good Enough: With me, I fear that I am not up there with the big leagues so my writing didn’t matter. Bullshit! I got the ugly voice out of my mind and decided that I was enough. I was enough to those who read my work and did like it. Decide that no matter what happens, you and your work matters.

3. Story Flow: As a new writer or even a veteran, we always wonder if our story is flowing or if it reads in perfect order. We can think we know it all, but the readers are the real judges. With my work, I always get different eyes on my work. Now, don’t just have anyone read your work. Let those who believe in your take a stab at it. They will be the realist as to whether you have something on your hands. Never start a project over, just keep writing. The story will tell itself. The voice in your head that is telling you what to write is real. Trust it.

4. Afraid of Success: This used to be me. But, I’ve been writing since I was 15. This is what I’ve wanted for SO many years. It can be overwhelming if we writers are in the limelight so to speak. We want or praises, but at the same time, we are afraid of success. It just a matter of what happens next? Do I get a deal? If so, will I have to compromise my writing and change who I am? Well, I don’t know the answers to that, but I have heard where writers may have to change their story. It just all depends on the publishing house. Some writers will just write and not allow anyone to read it due to fear. Please don’t let this happen to you. Be brave and bold to know that you matter. Your work matter’s you are a writer after all. But, if you don’t want anyone to read your work, still keep writing.

I hope that my fears and experiences will help my fellow writers along the way! I have not been picked up yet, but I am going the self-publish route until something happens. Keep writing and know that you are already great! I want to thank Naomi so much for allowing me to guest blog on her blog!


krystol-diggs-authorKrystol Diggs, the award-winning published author & writer for multiple news & magazine outlets, has captured the attention of readers around the world with her thrilling & captivating stories of love, loss, and life.

Krystol, of The Krystol Meth(od) has written numerous books & screenplays, including “Through Her Eyes”, her first book published in 2008, and “If It Ain’t Broke, Don’t Fix It”, a screenplay that won 2nd place in the Buffalo Niagara Film Festival Screenwriting Competition in 2014. You can find Krystol in 2015 getting her Ph.D in Educational Psychology at Walden University, highlighting as a Reporter for CNN iReport and releasing another published book titled “Trapped” and adapting a property for the producer of the film ” I DO, I DID”, Cherie Johnson.

Social Media:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WritingbyKrystol/

Twitter: @KrystolDiggs

Blog: https://www.writingsbykrystol.com

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_yi5pNlIAXu-tkp4yYd9ag

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/krystol-diggs-18022837