The Portals of Life and Death


“Being dead has its disadvantages.”

This was the beginning line. I didn’t know what to expect, and that first line hooked me. The synopsis had me intrigued, but it wasn’t until I opened the book and saw the first line penned by Maer Wilson did I realize I was in for a really interesting read.

I’d love to share this series (not just this book) with my niece when she’s older. She’s a little young (6 months old) to read at this level yet :P. It was such a good read though, that I’ll be keeping it on my list of books to pass on to others.

I could and did identify with each of the characters. Some were not as developed as others, and there were a few I would have like to get to know more about. Perhaps though when I’m finished reading the prequel short story and previous book my thirst for more Maer Wilson will be satiated. I highly doubt it though.

The dialogue and writing style were what I would call very accessible. I think it makes a great addition to the young adult genre. It also didn’t annoy me with too much slang. I know the book has older characters, but I really did find it to be accessible to a YA audience.

It gave me a great introduction and explanation of the book universe, then told a great story. It was a fun, and recreational read. Ive been looking for those things lately, and have had time for little else. Except for all the technical reading at my new job. I feel like I’m back in school, and I like that feeling. It just means I’m rather exhausted and not up for say – editing a manuscript – after my work day. (Which is about 12 hours on average).

I do plan on returning to writing and editing during my Christmas vacation. THATS RIGHT, I get one. For the first time ever, its more than 2 days.

I plan to hide out in my hidey-hole under a pile of blankets with bacon and rum.

It may not be a life or death battle, but these are a few of my favorite things?

 

About the books

There are two books in this series, and I am reviewing the second for the tour, but also plan to review the first one soon. Here then is the synopsis, and some info about this author will follow.

Click to Buy on Amazon

For supernatural detectives Thulu and La Fi, “normal” is a relative term. La Fi is a medium, Thulu is a finder, and their usual clients are already dead.

But when their friend Reo is shot, and a group of stranded angels show up at their house for help to find a missing child, things are striking too close to home.

And now the portals that let the magical races return to Earth have started opening on their own.

With trips off-world, a kidnapped psychic and changes to their own abilities, Thulu and La Fi are hit with a lot more than they usually handle. Of course, their magical friends are there to help, but even they may not be enough to save an increasingly unstable Earth.

Portals is the sequel to Relics and is Book 2 in “The Thulukan Chronicles.”

About the Author

After a successful career being other people, and later teaching others the many tricks of that trade, Maer Wilson has decided to be herself for a while. Turns out she’s a writer. She’s always loved stories, especially fantasy, mystery and sci fi. Maer was born in the Year of the Dragon and has a dragon-themed room in her home, but sadly no dragons in the back yard. When she’s not writing, Maer plays online video games, teaches college and reads. She also co-hosts the literary podcast, “MythBehaving” and writes for two gaming fansites. She lives in the high desert of Southern Nevada with her two dogs, a chihuahua and a poodle. Relics is her first novel and released on May 1, 2013. She released a prequel novelette, “Ghost Memory”, in The Thulukan Chronicles. You can visit her website athttp://maerwilson.com/.

You can find out all about the release and blog tour happening right here:  http://maerwilson.com/portals-release/.

About Naomi Leadbeater

Her passions include turning photographs into music, making mountains sing and writing ‘stream of consciousness’ book reviews here at naimeless. She also loves to support local initiatives like Community Supported Agriculture, theatre, music and entertainment, one day she might even start an Indie book club in her own small city. In her spare time she creates gardens in unlikely places and writes poetry & longer works of fiction.
This entry was posted in Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Portals of Life and Death

  1. Pingback: Portals – Book Release! » Maer Wilson

  2. Maer Wilson says:

    Thanks for the review, Naomi! And the kind words. :)

  3. Tammy says:

    Being under a blanket with bacon and rum made me laugh out loud!

Leave a Reply

